The New Keep Fit Craze: Piloxing

piloxing

I’ve managed to shock myself by keeping up some sort of regular exercise regime for the past couple of years. Who would have thought? Me, a keep fit convert, who after years of competitive swimming hung up my Speedos at 16 and kept anything remotely exerting as far away from my lounge lizard lifestyle as possible. The only thing I put energy into during my 20’s and 30’s – apart from the whirling dervishes that are my children – was eating. I even managed to earn myself the nickname of ‘Cake Monster’ in my early 20’s but now, as you can see from a couple of my older posts, I’m loving a bit of Zumba and Pilates and now…I’m going potty for Piloxing!

What is Piloxing? I hear you cry. It’s the latest Hollywood celebrity fitness craze loved by celebrities like Hilary Duff and Vanessa Hudgens, and in the words of the official website here, it mixes Pilates and boxing into a ‘fat torching’ and ‘muscle sculpting’ workout guaranteed to whip you into shape. And in my words? It’s flipping hard work and at first you feel like a bit of a twonk dipping and diving and upper cutting and jabbing until you start to feel those feel good endorphins zooming around  your body as you do the ‘booty burnout’ (wobble your bum really fast – a tsunami of tush!) and then you start to stop worrying about what you look like and enjoy it! Really, you do. The loud, pumping music is an upbeat mix of current street sounds which can sometimes get stuck in your head and drive you loopy for the rest of the day, but it really adds to the powerful workout. Swedish dancer and celebrity trainer Viveca Jensen, developed Piloxing to fulfill her mission to physically and mentally empower women through fitness. So, what’s not to love…apart from the beetroot face and jelly legs after a class? Here’s how it goes…

If you’re near Chiswick and you want to check out Piloxing, come to to Anny’s studio where you might find the odd super sylph like mum, but I can assure you, most of us don’t look like those super fit gym bunnies in the above video. You’re more likely to find us in baggy t-s and M&S leggings giggling at our Mohammed Ali impersonations as we workout.

What’s your favourite fitness class?

Leave a Reply

