Bring on the Beards!

Bad beard behaviour?

I used to think that beards were like Marmite – you either love them or hate them (I’m talking bearded men here, not women – a beardy bird is never a good look). I hated them, but as I’ve got older, I’m not so sure… You might think, “oh yes, because she saw Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Caribbean

Ooh Captain!

or gorgeous Jude Law looking fit with his fabulous fuzz”  Well, yeah, true.  But what really changed my mind was that Stressed Husband grew a beard last year and I surprised myself by thinking it was rather dashing and macho looking! At first, I was like, ooh, you look scruffy and hungover – shave it. But by the time it grew past the baby beard stage and fermented into fully grown foliage I was a firm fan of the facial fluff!  He shaved it off a few months later, but it was fun while it lasted.

So, when SH announced this morning that he was going beardy again, I was quite pleased and it got me thinking… is he going back to cavemen days and getting hairy to keep warm in this harsh weather? Or, maybe he’s taken a look at the Spring/Summer 2012 Men’s Catwalk looks and decided to get ‘with it’?  Take a look at this bevvy of beards in latest fashion campaigns. It looks like beards are having a moment…

Photo: French Connection

Photo: Urban Outfitters

And the new Gillette campaign features three A list handsome hairy men: Andre 3000, Adrien Brody and Gael Garcia Bernal in various states of beardiness, which according to their spokesperson indicates that today’s man isn’t just hairy – or not – he wants to be able to experiment with different looks.

Stroke my face

Photo: Gillette

I asked the kids what they thought about daddy with a beard:

“It’s nice but scratchy” smiled Little Angel,

“I like it, it’s cool – even though he looks a bit like a strict teacher”  Laughed Mean Teen

“He looks like a sad old perv”  Smirked My Boy. So, there you have it. Beards – you either love ’em or hate ’em.  What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Bring on the Beards!

  1. I love a man with a beard. Maybe because my Dad has one or I’m Greek so used to bearded men but I encouraged my husband to grow one and he’s never looked back. Party because the beard is so big and visibility is hard. No, seriously, it’s very model like as above and he looks HAWT! Beards are best.

  2. Hehe, thanks for your comment HonestMum. Glad you like your hubby’s beard – I’m looking forward to saying hello to my hubby’s beard soon…it’s a bit pathetic at moment and there’s more grey in it than there was last year! x

Leave a Reply

