Help me find my Style Mojo!

You’ll often find me moaning with friends about not knowing what to wear anymore – a lot of them feel the same. I wish I was one of those verging on OCD mamas with a closet full of pristine, colour co-ordinated outfits and matching accessories, but instead my wardrobe is an uninspiring mish mash with so many scruffy items of cream, taupe, beige and grey crammed together that it’s beginning to resemble fashion porridge. My lazy fashion sense is getting so bad that in the mornings, when I get dressed and look in the mirror, I nearly bore myself back to bed!

I’m not asking to be a super stylish school run mum – I mean, who could ever live up to this:

She's an Elle of a girl! Photo: Splash

Or this!…

photo: www.thegossipwrapup.com
If she can't smile looking like this then what hope for us?!

I’m not saying I want to go back 20 years to when I was at my most fashionable supa-doopa- (well…I am, but I can’t…so let’s move on). All I’m saying is, these days my style vibe is much more crap-walk than catwalk.  BUT…I’m not going to dwell on it, I’m going to do something about it. And I’ve already made a start by finding these brilliant blogs that I’m sure are going to help me out of my style hell hole and into fashion shangri-la.

Firstly, we have to find our fashion staples which is going to be a lot easier now I’ve found The Online Stylist, written by 40 something Amanda who got my vote with the line ‘When translated to the everyday world, fashion needs to be relevant, wearable and attainable‘. Here here!

I also clapped with joy when I found (again 40 something) Sharron’s brilliant Fab At Any Age blog.  I just  knew she would be the girl for me when I read ‘I adore leopard print and lipgloss and am rarely seen without Chanel nail polish.’ You and me both, girlfriend!

I’m pleased to say I’ve already picked up a wealth of clever fashion advice from these blogs and love the fact that they both enjoy a touch of glamour and frivolity alongside practicality – as I do. I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading them as much as I do, and I hope that with their help, it won’t be long before the porridge in my wardrobe is replaced with yummy eye candy!

Leave a Reply

