I am in love…with ZUMBA!

Ok, I have a confession to make…looking back at my last post, I made it seem as if I’m an exercise novice, but really, since the New Year, I’ve become an exercise convert. No longer the chubster flailing ungainly around at the back of the class, thanks to Zumba, I’n now a less chubby chubster wiggling my waist with joy near the front – not even scared of the mirrors!

That said, my last post wasn’t totally dishonest because I can’t run for toffee (might give it a go for chocolate though). But, I don’t know about you, this Zumba craze has – literally – changed my life. Life changing? Yes, it’s a big claim, but I love it so much I find myself preaching to the uninitiated wherever they may be –  at the school gates, in the queue at the supermarket, and even to my interviewer at a recent job interview  but I couldn’t have been too scary, cos I got the job! Think it was my infectious upbeat attitude that won it for me – another positive side effect from Zumba.

The best part of Zumba is that it is exercise, but it’s FUN! Never thought fun and exercise would be mentioned in the same sentence? Neither did I! It feels good – when you’re swaying to the high tempo latin beats, you can’t help but smile; it makes you move your feet even if your feet are both left ones – you don’t have to be a dancer to do it – you find your own moves and rhythm and you go with it. As our teacher is so fond of saying “There is no right or wrong, just do what feels good!”

I must also add that no matter what type of exercise I’ve tried over the years (and trust me, I’ve tried ’em all) not one of them has made even a slight indentation on my boxy trunk (brick like is the term that Trinny and Susannah would use on me I think.) But, blow me down, after 3 months of twice a week Zumba-ing, there is definitey some curvage going on around my tough-to-mould torso. I have the beginnings of a waist! Yee ha!

But please, if you see me coming down the street with wide eyes and a big smile on my face, please don’t avoid me as if I’m a loony, I just want you to have some Zumba magic in your life…go on, you’ll thank me for it. Promise.

One thought on “I am in love…with ZUMBA!

Leave a Reply

